

August 13, 2015

The Honorable Orrin Hatch Chairman U.S. Senate Committee on Finance 104 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Ron Wyden Ranking Member U.S. Senate Committee on Finance 221 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Hatch and Ranking Member Wyden:

On behalf of the 41 undersigned organizations representing the Nursing Community, we write in strong support of Mary Wakefield's, PhD, RN, nomination as Deputy Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Collectively, the Nursing Community coalition represents over one million registered nurses, advanced practice registered nurses, nurse executives, nursing students, nursing faculty, and nurse researchers. Our organizations are committed to improving the health and health care of our nation by collaborating to support advancements in nursing education and practice.

Currently serving as the Acting Deputy Secretary of the HHS, Dr. Wakefield has illustrated her ability to navigate the multifaceted responsibilities of this role. As Administrator of the Health Resources and Services Administration, Dr. Wakefield strived to and achieved great measures of success that strengthened our nation's healthcare workforce and increased healthcare access to our nation's underserved and rural populations. Dr. Wakefield understands the importance of interprofessional collaborations and continues to work across HHS Agencies to find solutions to some of our greatest healthcare challenges. As a registered nurse, Dr. Wakefield poses a vast array of work experience within our healthcare system. Dr. Wakefield's staunch devotion to the health of our nation and her expansive healthcare knowledge will prove instrumental if appointed. She exemplifies the commitment to high-quality care so that it becomes a reality for all Americans, thus creating a healthier tomorrow for our nation. The Nursing Community fully supports her nomination.

We respectfully urge the Senate to confirm Dr. Mary Wakefield as Deputy Secretary of HHS. If our organizations can be of any assistance, or if you have any questions, please contact Suzanne Miyamoto, at <u>Smiyamoto@aacn.nche.edu</u> or 202-463-6930, ext. 247.

Sincerely,

Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing American Academy of Nursing American Association of Colleges of Nursing American Association of Heart Failure Nurses American Association of Neuroscience Nurses American Association of Nurse Anesthetists American Association of Nurse Practitioners American Association of Occupational Health Nurses American College of Nurse-Midwives American Nephrology Nurses' Association American Nurses Association American Organization of Nurse Executives American Psychiatric Nurses Association American Society for Pain Management Nursing American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses Association of Community Health Nursing Educators Association of Nurses in AIDS Care Association of periOperative Registered Nurses Association of Public Health Nurses Association of Rehabilitation Nurses Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses Dermatology Nurses' Association **Emergency Nurses Association** Infusion Nurses Society International Society of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurses National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists National Association of Hispanic Nurses National Association of Neonatal Nurse Practitioners National Association of Neonatal Nurses National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners National Association of School Nurses National Council of State Boards of Nursing National Forum of State Nursing Workforce Centers National League for Nursing National Nursing Centers Consortium Nurses Organization of Veterans Affairs Oncology Nursing Society Organization for Associate Degree Nursing Society of Urologic Nurses and Associates

CC:

Senator Chuck Grassley Senator Mike Crapo Senator Pat Roberts Senator Michael Enzi Senator John Cornyn Senator John Thune Senator Richard Burr Senator Johnny Isakson Senator Rob Portman Senator Patrick Toomey Senator Dan Coats Senator Dean Heller Senator Tim Scott Senator Charles Schumer Senator Debbie Stabenow Senator Maria Cantwell Senator Bill Nelson Senator Robert Menendez Senator Thomas Carper Senator Benjamin Cardin Senator Sherrod Brown Senator Michael Bennet Senator Robert Casey Jr. Senator Mark Warner